Skip to main content
Procore

Configure Groups for Workforce Planning

Objective

To configure groups and set your default group for Workforce Planning.

Background

Groups are how all projects and people are organised for Workforce Planning. When using the Workforce Planning tool, all information about people, projects, assignments, and requests is displayed in the context of the group. 

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permissions
  • All people and projects must be associated with at least one group. 
  • If a person is 'Assignable' and belongs to more than one group, they can be given workforce assignments in any group they are a part of.
  • All active people, projects, job titles and tags must be removed from a group before you can delete it.
 Tip
  • Minimise the number of groups you create.
  • Group your company in segments where your company is clearly divided with minimal crossover of people (East Coast, West Coast). 
    • Why? Because information displayed is in the context of the group, when Assignable people are in multiple groups, it is difficult to tell if a person you want to assign already has a workforce assignment in another group.
  • Some commonly used groups are:
    • Branch Offices
    • Internal Divisions or Sectors
    • Local Unions
    • Project Managers
    • Trades
      Note: If you have the same people working across different trades, it would be better to set up your trades as a custom field that can be used across groups.

Steps

Follow these steps to:

Configure Groups

  1. Navigate to the Company level Workforce Planning tool.
  2. Click the Configure Settings icons-settings-gear.png icon.
  3. Click Groups.
  4. Click New.
  5. Configure your group with the following properties:
    Note: Required fields are marked with an asterisk (*).
    1. Group Name. Enter the group's name.
    2. Timezone. Select the group's timezone.
    3. Group Address. Enter the group's street address.
    4. Group Address 2. Enter the group's street address, continued.
    5. City/Town. Enter the group's city or town.
    6. State/Province. Enter the group's state or province.
    7. Postcode. Enter the group's postcode.
    8. Country. Enter the project's country.
    9. Contact Name. Enter the group's contact name.
    10. Contact Phone. Enter the group's contact phone number.
    11. Contact Email. Enter the group's contact email address.
    12. Colour. Select the the group's colour.
    13. Picture. Add the group's picture.
    14. Icon. Select the group's icon.
  6. Click Save.

Set your Default Group

To set the default group that is displayed when you log in to workforce planning, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to the Company level Workforce Planning tool.
  2. Click the Configure Settings icons-settings-gear.png icon.
  3. Click View Preferences.
  4. Under 'Default Group', select your default group.
  5. Click Save.

Edit a Group

  1. Navigate to the Company level Workforce Planning tool.
  2. Click the Configure Settings icons-settings-gear.png icon.
  3. Click Groups.
  4. Click Edit next to the group to edit.
  5. Update the relevant information.
  6. Click Save.

Delete a Group

  1. Navigate to the Company level Workforce Planning tool.
  2. Click the Configure Settings icons-settings-gear.png icon.
  3. Click Groups.
  4. Click Delete next to the group to delete.
  5. Type 'Yes' and click Delete to delete.

See Also