While most tools in Procore have a standard set of permissions to assign to users, the Conversations tool (if enabled for a project) can be used by anyone in the project's Directory, with some limitations (described below).
The following table highlights which user permissions are required to perform the described user action.
Note: The Conversations tool does not have its own set of permissions to assign and instead relies on users being part of a project's Directory and having access to items within that project. See the notes below the table for specific considerations.
1 The permission required for creating and managing a group depends on the 'Group Conversations Permissions' setting in the Company level Admin tool of the Procore account. See Configure Access and Settings for the Conversations Tool.
- If 'Administrators' is selected, 'Admin' level permissions to the Project or Company level Directory tool.
- If 'Internal Employees' is selected, users who are marked as internal employees. See How do I add someone as an employee of my company?
- If 'Everyone' is selected, any user in the Company Directory.
2 This action can be performed by any user in the project's Directory (for their own conversations and items that they have access to). See the specific considerations below:
- Direct Messages:
- If Direct Messages are enabled for the account, anyone in the project's Directory (and Company Admins) can be messaged or mentioned.
- If Direct Messages are only enabled for internal employees, only users marked as employees of the company can be messaged or mentioned. See How do I add someone as an employee of my company?
- Direct messages are private and can only be seen by the individuals in the message. Admin users cannot view direct messages that they are not a part of.
Note: A data export containing direct messages can be provided to Company Admins by Procore Support if needed.
- Group Conversations:
- Anyone in the project's Directory (and Company Admins) can be messaged or mentioned in a group.
- Messages within a group conversation can only be seen by members of that group.
- Item Conversations:
- Conversations for specific items in a project can only be viewed and participated in by users with access to the item in Procore ('Read Only' or higher permissions to the item's tool and appropriate access if an item is marked as Private).
- All conversations:
- Users can only message or mention users who exist in the project's Directory, as well as Company Admins.
- Users can only edit and delete their own messages (within 5 minutes of sending and if the feature is enabled).
- Users can only hide a conversation from their own view.
For Items Marked as Private
The table below outlines the types of users who can be involved in conversations for items that are marked as 'Private' in the following tools:
|Tool||Users who can view, create, participate in or be mentioned:|