How are duplicate companies handled between the Directory tool and Procore Construction Network?
When you need to solicit tenders for a project, you can use the new Tender Management experience to create a tender form to break down scope and cost information and help to standardise the responses that are received from tenderers.
Once you create your tender form, you can add companies to tender on your projects from your Company level Directory or add tenderers from the Procore Construction Network. If you add tenderers from the Procore Construction Network, their company and Tender Contacts are added to your Company level Directory as a "Connected Company" and "Connected Users". See What happens when companies and users are added from the Procore Construction Network to the Company Directory?
While Procore can detect duplicate companies based on the Tender Contact, it is possible to end up with duplicate companies in your Directory if the Connected Company has different information on their business profile.
Note: This is temporary. See the information below for how to avoid duplicates or correct information in the meantime.
Procore can detect and prevent a duplicate company being added to your Company level Directory from the Procore Construction Network if the Tender Contact's email address already exists in your Directory.
How Duplicates are Prevented
When adding a company from the Procore Construction Network, duplicates are prevented if:
Procore will notify you and prevent you from adding the Procore Construction Network company so as to prevent creating a duplicate company in your Directory.
To invite the Procore Construction Network to tender, you can remove the current Tender Contacts from company already listed in your Directory and try again.
This will add a new "Connected Company" in the Directory along with their Tender Contacts.
Note: This will create a duplicate company. See below for how to manage duplicates.
How Duplicates are Created
When you add a company from the Procore Construction Network, a duplicate company is created if:
The Procore Construction Network company is added to your Company level Directory as a separate "Connected Company" with a different Tender Contact and email address. The original company record remains in your directory unconnected.
At this time, you cannot merge Connected and unconnected companies into a single record. However, there are other ways that you can manage duplicates.
How to Manage Duplicates
Procore is developing a solution that will allow companies to be merged. Until then, you can manage the duplicate companies by manually updating information in the Connected company and inactivating the unconnected company record in your Company level Directory:
- Move any company information from the unconnected company to the Connected Company record.
- Move users from the unconnected company to the Connected Company record. See Edit a User Account in the Company Directory.
Note: A Connected Company can have unconnected users.
- After information has been moved, you can inactivate the unconnected company in the Directory. See Inactivate a Company in the Company Directory.